Possession of Stolen Properties
In Nevada it's a crime to knowingly possess or receive stolen property even if the property wasn't stolen by you. A conviction of possession of stolen property can carry stiff penalties and will also be part of the individual’s record. The act of possessing stolen property in Las Vegas, Nevada includes circumstances which a reasonable person would have known that the property was stolen.
It is illegal for any individual to possess property that is known to be stolen or that the person should have known reasonably that it was stolen. The court will make the presumption that the individual knew that the property was stolen if he is found to have more than three similar items with their serial numbers removed. In Las Vegas an individual can be charged with possession of stolen property, even if the person that actually stole the item is never convicted or even caught.
Penalties for Possession of Stolen Property
The penalties for violating the possession of stolen property and all will be dependent on its value. If it is deemed that the property is worth up to $250, then it is considered a misdemeanor in Las Vegas. If an individual is found guilty, then he or she can be sentenced with providing restitution, and with up to 6 months of incarceration. In addition, he may face up to $1000 in fines.
If the property is worth over $250 and less than $2500, then it is considered a felony that is category C, and that individual will be sentence with providing restitution plus 1 to 5 years in a Nevada state prison. In addition, the individual may face fines of up to $10,000.
If the property is worth more than $2500, then this is considered a felony category B in Las Vegas and the sentence is to provide restitution plus serve 1 to 10 years in a Nevada state prison. In addition, there are fines of up to $10,000.